Latest News


Thursday, June 30, 2011

Defending champ Chennai Super Kings grouped with Mumbai Indians for Twenty20 Champions League

NEW DELHI - Defending champion Chennai Super Kings, led by India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, has been grouped with Sachin Tendulkar's Mumbai Indians for the Champions League Twenty20 tournament.

The Sept. 23-Oct. 9 tournament, featuring 10 of the world's top T20 sides, will be played in two groups of five with the top two teams from each group advancing to the semifinals.

It will be played at Chennai, Bangalore and Kolkata. Chennai will host the final and a semifinal. Bangalore will host the other semifinal.

Seven teams from India, Australia and South Africa have earned given direct entries, while six others will play off for the remaining three spots in a qualifying tournament at Hyderabad from Sept. 19-21.

The qualifying event will have two pools of three teams with the top side from both advancing, along with the next best qualifier.

Indian team Kolkata Knight Riders, Trinidad and Tobago of West Indies and Auckland Aces of New Zealand will be joined by two teams from England and one from Sri Lanka in qualifying.


Group A: Chennai Super Kings (India), Cape Cobras (South Africa), New South Wales Blues (Australia), Mumbai Indians (India), qualifier.

Group B: Bangalore Royal Challengers (India), Warriors (South Africa), South Australian Redbacks (Australia), qualifier, qualifier.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ratings and Recommendations by outbrain