Latest News


Friday, January 7, 2011

CSA will make special awards to Sachin Tendulkar for his outstanding and ongoing contribution to the growth of cricket world-wide.

This tribute will take place at the sell-out Standard Bank International Pro20 match in Durban on Sunday, according to Cricket South Africa (CSA) chief executive Gerald Majola.

South Africa and India drew 1-1 in the three-match Test series which ended on Thursday. The only Twenty20 game of India's tour will honour Makhaya Ntini when the fast bowler plays his last international match.

Majola said the game would also be a major celebration of the 150th anniversary of the arrival of Indians in South Africa.

"President Zuma will be CSA's guest of honour at the match and he, in turn, will be honouring four people for outstanding services that have furthered the relationship between South Africa and India," Majola said.

"President Zuma will make the awards posthumously to the late Chief Albert Luthuli, former President of the African National Congress and South Africa's first Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, as well as to the late Dr Yusuf Dadoo, a former anti-apartheid struggle hero and Chairman of the SA Communist Party.

"Members of both families will accept the awards from President Zuma at the match.

"In this way, he will also honour two prominent Indian business leaders, Mr Anand Sharma, the Indian Minister of Commerce and Industry, and Mr M D Mallya, Chairman and Managing Director of the Bank of Baroda. Both will accept the awards at the match.

"CSA will also make special awards to South African cricket icon, Makhaya Ntini, on this his swansong from international cricket, and to Indian batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar for his outstanding and ongoing contribution to the growth of cricket world-wide.

"CSA has also invited all the members of Clive Rice's Proteas squad that made that first historic tour to India in 1991. These players will be capped in a symbolic ceremony to be held on the field shortly before the start of the match.

"The match itself between South Africa and India will be played for the inaugural Krish Mackerdhuj Trophy, named after the late President of the United Cricket Board (now CSA) and a pioneer of that first tour to India."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ratings and Recommendations by outbrain